Get Quote Order Form Contact Need Help? 800-724-2616
Joy Luck Club B3127

Joy Luck Club

by Amy Tan | Paperback | SKU B3127
McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams


For readers of Amy Tan's bestselling novel, "The Valley of Amazement," revisit her classic tale of mothers and daughters Four mothers, four daughters, four families whose histories shift with the four winds depending on who's "saying" the stories. In 1949 four Chinese women, recent immigrants to San Francisco, begin meeting to eat dim sum, play mahjong, and talk. United in shared unspeakable loss and hope, they call themselves the Joy Luck Club. Rather than sink into tragedy, they choose to gather to raise their spirits and money. "To despair was to wish back for something already lost. Or to prolong what was already unbearable." Forty years later the stories and history continue.With wit and sensitivity, Amy Tan examines the sometimes painful, often tender, and always deep connection between mothers and daughters. As each woman reveals her secrets, trying to unravel the truth about her life, the strings become more tangled, more entwined. Mothers boast or despair over daughters, and daughters roll their eyes even as they feel the inextricable tightening of their matriarchal ties. Tan is an astute storyteller, enticing readers to immerse themselves into these lives of complexity and mystery.

Product Information

  • AR Level5.7
  • AR Quiz Number7111
  • AR Quiz Points14
  • AuthorAmy Tan
  • Page Count288
  • ISBN100143038095
  • ISBN139780143038092
  • PublisherPenguin Publishing Group
  • Year Published2006
  • Grade Level12
  • Type of BookFiction
  • SubjectFiction & related items

Related Items

To add related items to your cart, check each of the items that you want in the list then click the "Add Selected to Cart" button at the bottom of the list.

CB3127 $656.95
CP3127 $336.95
C3127 $496.95
G3127 $176.95
S3127 $16.95
EB3127 $16.95

This book is part of these Book Collections

Our school reading collections supply a comprehensive assortment of titles that are perfect for adding depth to classrooms and school libraries.

Customer Reviews

Submit a Review


We respect your privacy. Your email address will not be displayed.

Mailing List

Learning Links
PO Box 326
Cranbury, NJ 08512

26 Haypress Road
Cranbury, NJ 08512

Phone: 516-437-9071
Toll-Free: 800-724-2616
Fax: 516-437-5392
Toll-Free Fax: 888-960-2508

McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Proud member of these
professional organizations…
International Reading Association

Please Wait... processing